Sierra Club Home Page Sierra Club San Diego  
Explore, Enjoy and Protect the Planet  
chapter home
get outdoors
activity sections
contact us
join or give
Explore, Enjoy and Protect

In This Section
steering committee
Conservation News
  get involved:
activity sections
groups (regional)
political issues
  take action:
political endorsements
bylaws & policies
government links
photo gallery
SDSU archives
  site info:
credits, terms of use, copyright
Updated 7/21/2014 by DZG

Memo from Sierra Club President Dave Scott

April 11, 2014

Sierra Club Members,
Here is an update on the most recent actions taken by the Board Executive Committee to put in place a Steering Committee to govern the San Diego Sierra Club.

We unanimously approved the Search Team’s recommendation appointing seven Steering Committee members and two alternates (who will fill future vacancies):

San Diego Steering Committee
Paul Webb
Karenlee Robinson
Debbie Hecht
Nick Ervin
Kerry Siekmann
Alan Creutz
Davin Widgerow

1st Alternate – Joe Zechman
2nd Alternate – Diane Nygaard

We would like to express our appreciation to the local Sierra Club members who served as the Search Team: Lynn Baker, Starla Rivers, Larry Klaasen, Micah Mitrosky and Martin Stevens. They did outstanding work in recruiting 26 candidates, thoroughly vetting them, and identifying a well-qualified leadership team for San Diego.

We also want to express our gratitude to all of the members who offered to serve on the Steering Committee. We encourage those of you who were not chosen for the Steering Committee to consider stepping into other leadership roles to help us build the strongest, most effective San Diego Sierra Club possible.

The Steering Committee has been charged with rebuilding Sierra Club capacities and managing Sierra Club functions in San Diego and Imperial counties, rebuilding trust among volunteer leaders and with the national Board and staff, and preparing for a transition to a well-functioning, member-elected San Diego Chapter leadership.

Chapter Support personnel will be moving forward over the next month to orient the new Steering Committee and help them to begin assuming their responsibilities. Steering Committee members will take office following a team launch training in May.

David Scott, President

Note: Kerry Siekmann later resigned due to a conflict with her position on the Carlsbad City Planning Commission. First alternate Joe Zechman will step into the vacancy. Dr. Alan Creutz has also resigned. Second alternate Diane Nygaard will take over for him.